PO Box 426 West Barnstable, MA 02668 info@massreading.org 1-877-476-9672 ~ Fax Line: 1-877-476-0577




Chair Nancy Witherell

Congratulations to 2017 Recipient:

Jessica Nestle

Jenn Manak, MRA Chairperson, Jessica Nestle, 2017 Recipient


About the Scholarship

The Donald L. Landry

Student Scholarship was established to encourage students to become active members of professional organizations, and in particular MRA.  The scholarship was named after Donald Landry to honor his years of service to MRA as President (1972-1973)  and Executive Treasurer until 2008.  Student Applicants must be enrolled in an Educational Program and  write an essay following the established guidelines below. Landry Scholarship recipients receive full complementary registration for both days of the Annual MRA Conference, and an Annual Student Membership. The Student Membership Committee oversees the implementation of this award.

Past Recipients

Janine Meagher, 2016 Bridgewater State ~ Tiara Ghedi, 2015 ~ Westfield State University~Jill Pierantozzi ~ 2014 ~ Framingham State University Sarah Root-Simone ~ 2013 ~ Worcester State University Mariah West ~ 2012 ~ Westfield State University Emily Capurso ~ 2011 ~ Lesley University Adrienne Filippazzo ~ 2010 ~ Salem State College Cathy Papayannopoulos ~ 2009 ~ Framingham State University


Chair Terrie Marr


Marlene Custodio, Recipient, Michelle Gajda, Recipient,Terrie Marr, Chairperson, Mary Boehmer, Recipient, Laura Broach MRA President

 Congratulations to the Three  2017 Recipients

Marlene Custodio, Michelle Gajda, Mary Boehmer

2017 Sylvia Brown Scholarship Winning Proposals

About the Scholarship

The Sylvia Brown Scholarship gives financial support to MRA members to carry out action research. Award winners will be required to share their findings by either presenting at the MRA Annual Conference the following year or by submitting an article for publication in the Primer, the MRA journal. One of the applicants for each submission must be a member of the Massachusetts Reading Association.   The members of the MRA Scholarship Committee invite you to apply for one of the Sylvia D. Brown Scholarships. Since 1976, MRA has been offering this opportunity to help foster literacy instruction. One of the purposes of this memorial scholarship is to provide MRA members, who are classroom teachers or literacy specialists, with the financial support they need to conduct action research within their educational set.The first step to turn your idea into a reality is to fill out an application and apply. You may request between $250 and $1000. Scholarship proposals must be submitted by February 10th of each year.